A Reminder.

Today we received news that put the whole office to tears as we learned our co-worker, who has been in and out of the hospital, won’t be coming back. He was one of the good ones. They always are.

How sad it is that something so tragic has to happen to remind us how precious this life we live is. It is all too easy to get wrapped up in our own worlds. Get stressed out by little things: bills, work, meetings, events, appearance, materials, and we forget about the important things and how quickly life can change.

So here is my reminder: Life is short.

Find the good people. Never settle. And never let the good ones go. Don’t let a day go by where they don’t know how much they mean to you. Appreciate. Laugh until you cry. Cry until you laugh. Forgive. Don’t forget. But just let it go already and truly forgive them. Even thank them for making you a stronger person. Acknowledge strangers. Be independent. Depend on someone. Be vulnerable. Buy a gift for someone for no reason other than it made you think of them. Be the person you want to be. Don’t hold back because of or for anyone. Be kind. Say please. Say thank you. And for goodness sake, say I love you every chance you get!

Say yes. Take every opportunity presented to you. Create every opportunity not presented to you. Take spur of the moment road trips. Create a bucket list and check them off. Have adventures. LOTS of adventures. Travel. Eat dessert for dinner, because fuck, YOU CAN! Lay in the middle of the road and watch the stars. Play with puppies. Get outside. Climb a mountain. Swim in the rivers, lakes and oceans. Climb a tree. Lay in the grass. Watch the moon rise and the sun set. Go hiking, biking, running, jogging, yawgging, walking – just get outside and do something! Try different foods. Learn a foreign language. Sing at the top of your lunges. Do whatever it is that makes your heart tick and soul smile, but whatever you do, don’t wait. 

I’ll leave you with this quote, because quotes always say it best.

“Everything changed the day she figured out there was exactly enough time for the important things in her life.” 
― Brian Andreas

___

Note to my readers:

Please excuse my months of absence. I’ve been on sabbatical of sorts. Hit one of those points in life where everything flipped upside-down, so I’ve been taking this time to focus on myself. On where and who I want to be, and it’s been one of the most eye-opening, adventure filled, treasured years of my life. I truly believe that one positive change leads to so many more. Soon, I promise to be back here to continue sharing creative ideas and others’ stories to help perpetuate the spark change movement. Love to you all!

5 thoughts on “A Reminder.

  1. Wow! This hits home for me this week. I, too, am entering one of those points in my life where everything is “flipped,” and I don’t know what to do next. We all need this gentle reminder every so often. Thanks for reminder us of what’s truly important in life!

    • Thanks for your comment! Sorry to hear your life has been doing somersaults. Sometimes I feel like when life keeps throwing roadblocks, it is a sign that we’re fighting our true path in life. But when we take a step back, allow for a change of course, everything starts to fall into place once again. Good luck and stay strong! “It’ll all be ok in the end. If it’s not ok, it’s not the end.”

  2. Pingback: A reminder | Thought Jetty

  3. I really love this, it’s a beautiful sentiment. Hard to perpetuate but SO important to be reminded of. Thank you for sharing it!… I have shared it in the social sense 🙂

    • Hi Jim!

      Thank you for sharing! I really appreciate your kind words. I always need the remind myself and always enjoy knowing that someone else appreciates the reminder, too. Hope you are having a good week!

      Kelly

Leave a Reply

